The Argentine government gets out from article 9 of the declaration of the self-called Group of Lima

The Foreign Minister of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Jorge Arreaza, informed on Friday through his Twitter account @jaarreaza, that the Argentine government has set aside its support for article 9 of the declaration issued by the self-called Grupo de Lima on January 4.

Likewise, the Foreign Minister reiterated his call for respect for territorial integrity and the principles of the Charter of the United Nations.

This action arises after the Head of State, during a press conference with international media, reported on the delivery of a Diplomatic Note of Protest to the governments that make up this multilateral body.

“The governments that make up the Group of Lima must rectify their position on Venezuela within 48 hours, otherwise more urgent and crude measures will be taken to defend our country”, the President emphasized.

With Argentina, there are already four countries that have rectified their position regarding to the Article 9 of this declaration. The Republic of Panama, the Republic of Costa Rica and the Republic of Guatemala also spoke.

Currently, the self-appointed Lima Group is made up of the governments of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Saint Lucia.